2:47 pm . enough
my strangely built hands perform
the most useless dance while reaching
for my bag, on the floor. i have sensed
you before even seeing, even turning
even this
even that
crush myself in fatalistic
solitude, it should not do
to be so comfortable alone.

the whole time, too aware
of acting & reacting
reacting & reflecting.
but then, i must appear
to be a fickle thing;
unwanting & so obviously
contending for your attention.
oh, i have bitten into
forbidden fruits.

cross the cages filled by
daunting faces,
smiling & they say
hello, how are you?
they must know the answer
they must see through me.

but then to find you spreading arms
against the air, whilst taking up
the plastic chair. in conversation,
always in conversation
with those who are so
much more than me.

a moment of meeting eyes in meeting rooms
it has taken me by such stupid surprise. oh, i
did not mean for this. i stare too hard,
i know, i am sorry
i am hopeless.

there is no electricity
only a curious demise,
only a curious return.
so definition has arrived
in careless
reckless
examinations
i have been infatuated with
something unattainable.
we are as separate
here & now
for longer still,
as the pacific &
the milky way.

have i shocked you with my sideways glance?
we should hope for better, it will be the last.

let's make a conclusion
of voices that never meet.

nostalgia . uncertainty