5:30 pm . tower
listening to all the blues songs i can
doesn't make me fall one way or
the other. standing here between
surrender or defiance, i don't
know what to choose. both
are pretty useless.

sadly said, it was
the highlight of my day
to dream up ways
to meet you while
you are writing, fixing,
making a masterpiece
making a masterpiece
let me spoil it for you
just let me find a way
to crawl into your life
bewitch you, besot you.
an eye for an eye
i think they say?

i saw someone wearing your face today,
head thrown back in laughter, having
a moment to regress from the street.
& so it wasn't you, it wasn't that
kind of hurt, but it made me know
i will never have that eye
in return.

do i really want to? there
are so many black holes
in what i feel, that you
a charmer of snakes & gods,
were bound to burn me too
bound to charm me to no end,
i do not want the end. i want
to follow you down to the cafe,
talk to you, unweave you, allow
myself to fall under your spell.

so,
i have
regretted
my regrets.
you have stated
your challenge & i
did not conquer, only
watched the autumn leaves
turn to dust, turn to green.

nostalgia . uncertainty