8:49 pm . unsung
it's been a half hour since i
decided not to say
what i had to say

it's been days since i woke up
with a bruise on my shoulderblade,
impossible to glimspe in my star-studded mirror,
but it is there, i guess it is blue. i'm beginning
to think i have the agility
to avoid this whole fiasco;
to force my way through the verses of time
once & for all
once & again
once would be enough

i'm gaining something more in everyday
from tossing my feet on the dashboard
to talking to the pizzeria man. driving
in the rain, with windows rolled down,
to the sound of a brokenheart guitar.
things i have so sorely missed
since becoming a worn out fool,
full of contradictions & lore

& though i burnt the scrambled eggs the other day
while thinking of how things are meant to be,
& even though i have this feeling
all wretched & ill-fitting at best,
& though i still think a rendezvous
over breakfast & novels is the
perfect way out of this mess,
i know & i know & it has made
a world of difference

my opportunities have run wild &
if being too meek, too undecided
has let me leave it to this, then
great reversals can see no end
last chances, i am willing
to meet

nostalgia . uncertainty