12:50 am . atlantic
do i dare turn you down while wearing flowers in my hair?

& you're wearing that look & neither of us ever know
what it means when i return the gaze.

be brave. be a collusion. be brave. be a collusion. be brave. be a collusion.

& you've got your signatures & they
are signing me off & pulling me low,
it can't be helped. it's got to end.
still, i go chasing you on,
down our streets & halls
to the room of our enchantment,
leaving this papertrail you
will never know. will never see
the words i leave in your shadow
which stretches over me, under me
through me. & boy! you are so through with me.

oh, since you first sweet-talked me with
the glint in your eye
& i turned my head this way & that
sizing up all the wonder in your blood.
but we never clasped hands,
never even exchanged names.

never conspired to turn the keys caught in our doors.

i will never stop owing you this.

nostalgia . uncertainty