7:08 pm . cigarettes at the bow
we stood on the deck
of some beautiful boat,
slicing the water
with terrible ease.

oh!
it was so quiet & black
& i had followed you there.

but i don't seem to understand when to turn my head or open the door at the most precise of moments...
to apologise while sweeping my dress sideways.

i end up laughing while dancing in the dark, trailing after the friends that keep their own mysteries,
listening to a drunkard sing me melodies under the bridge.
i steal coats & return them in good nick. grow bored of wine.
obsess over candlelight, over moments
that can't conclude for me.

why did you
go whispering things,
before forgetting
what i looked like when
i was drunk & wearing
vintage heels?

you stand in the wings,
all my life is a stage.

nostalgia . uncertainty