1:33 am . delilah
drained in every sense
from my bones to my heart,
i might have lost the
weight of a soul.

i stand in the falling sunlight,
blue ball of string at hand
losing myself in a minute
of feeling simply plain.
plain without my earrings or scarf,
without a favoured skirt or a
coat to keep me warm. plain
without the ability
to keep my spine in place,
to smile for no reason at all.

i feel so goddamn plain just thinking of you.

the girl could be a wreck
an operatic outburst.
a tube of translucencey
against the tangerine skies.

maybe it's the fact that you made a liar out of me, & you intended it. you intended it all this time. maybe it's the feeling that i'm cold & lonely & i'm always waiting for someone, if not myself. maybe it's the knowledge that no one wants to rescue me from this, no one wants to make me a promise, no one wants to try. & it's childish. it's so, so incredibly stupid & foolish & me.

that was the difference
the absolute contrast
the oil & water
of you & i

when i wanted the words
i never asked
i always hoped
(maybe that's why i rarely recieved them?)
((why kid myself.))

if you wanted the words
you demanded them
& they were yours.

my minute of plainness
turns into an hour
or more.

there's no relief.
there's only the guilt
a slice of self-loathing
the numbness of my neglect

i regret you so bad.

these nights i don't sleep easy,
i don't even know why.

nostalgia . uncertainty