10:35 pm . electronic
victims by volition
you & i together could be
just right, for right now at least.

oh, girls like that only require
split-second dalliances, on-the-spot
romances, momentary glances
which irk the most elaborate,
the most well-timed
plans.

you, all high & ready to fall deeply for someone,
yet outrageous in your flirtations;
casting a languid eye over any hem
of summer-torn-shorts, or a
shoestring strap of a flimsy
camisole. finally settling,
finally falling, stalling.
starting.

there'll always be other girls
all honey-skinned
& pretty beyond repair.

could i be like other girls?
or would you fall for me
with some semblance of measure?
you've done everything i was afraid of
with someone more astute, more forthcoming than me...
& i find myself waning, waxing, casting light, hiding.
i find myself, i find myself.

nostalgia . uncertainty