2:39 am . foil
your interlocuter turned his head
right in the corner
of my elongated
eye.

though you were beyond the reach of my vision
((the unsteady grasp of my stare))
the curiosity of your company
told me instantly, instinctively,
you'd recognised me.

by my voice? my hair?
or just the knowledge of my movement?
gleaned from watching me walk away
for all those afternoons
in november.

i want to know the words you use whenever i leave the room.

but wait! we are not done.
i drive past this place,
the scene of all our crimes,
& sense perhapsohgodmaybe
you've spotted me
through the tint
through the dust
& false oblivion.

the light turns red. red. red.
danger. lust. regrets.

stop.

both my hands are at the wheel,
with my heartbeat expressed
through the tap-tap-tap
of a finger.

to turn is to confirm it,
that you've been staring after me
since you returned, since she turned
you down & out & away.
since i went wandering by
in my clothes of yesteryear,
with a blue balloon in my wake.

but i don't. let my cheeks burn
the colour of sangria. red. red.
relief. green. go.

nostalgia . uncertainty