10:00 pm . glass slipper
i'm gasping under the sadness of my skirt
& it flirts with the floor & it says
that i've been crying
(but maybe it is lying)
((it might be lying))

i think i've broken
i don't
i can't
i can't
i can't

it's a lilac sky,
a strumming guitar,
it's like saying
that things are fine,
just fine.

but i'm cold & woken
i don't want to be here

my throat is burning, swelling
& my heart is pressing against my ribs.
remember to inhale just once & once again

tired. i shouldn't. have had that glass of wine. ((caustic against the roughness of my throat.)) it makes. me. slumber & fall. slumber & fall. in its pretty little glass. the elegant, eloquent prison. that holds the problems to my problems. a little liquid. for a lifetime of dreaming. i. i. i. i am just fine?

i could be just fine
just sad for the night,
just blue.

i might agree & take up
your invitation of midnight coffees,
of sleeping in your sheets
filled with silver.

to wake up in the morning
& find that i am happy
& find that i am found.

it gets so lonely
here in my head.

nostalgia . uncertainty