5:22 pm . hurry
it is past five,
i've missed the post
hopefully you will not mind,
my letter will be sent
in due time.

& so began another friday,
the wet skies crackling with
coloured lights. i curl up in my
multi-coloured sheets, pressing snooze
until a lecture in room one-four-nine
drags me from this stupor.

cut across the college greens,
take a zebra crossing so i
can rule the street.

i enter your palace,
pause at the door that has known
all abuses. meet you with a wave.
oh, you are a tease.

i give you a false name
but you know that
it is a lie.
how?

smiling, my eyes hit the floor
never letting you know my reaction.

i'm falling for this again,
an addict for anything
vaguely romantic.

my drowning shoes
my clumsy umbrella
my binder which clutches
my secrets in margins.

& how do i tell
all the kisses
from crosses?

nostalgia . uncertainty