9:32 pm . spy
now you're running to distant lands
in hopes of finding her again.

you've got your ticket & all the verses
of her language are cutting your tongue.

i never truly learned another language
but my thoughts were always
written to the letter.

plainly, you'd think
& i might agree.

because these words had captured me & i
wanted to bind the book of my life in a single tongue;
because this is the instinct of all my expression.

& all these months, these three seasons past
you have been my only language, my only instinct.

i could have saved you the trouble, so many times over.
i could have saved you the trouble & the time & the money
& that force which tore fissures into your chest.

but i kept you on hold; holdin' on
that you were holdin' out for me.

for what?

oh honey, i want to move on
just like you are now.
teach me. tell me.

nostalgia . uncertainty