10:43 pm . fabled winter solstice
gravel grinds against
my shoes. like
dry skin on
sandstone.

i hear someone
yell. foreign
proclamations,
prayers &
dedications.
yell yell yell.
but on i
stroll.

headlights, traffic, cars
make impressions
on the wall. though,
they do not last
a second.

one moment too late
one moment too soon.

was that my life i was about to lose?

you scared me is all
you scared me is all.

i breathe.
an infusion of
smoke & green
& old perfume.

plunge into
an ice-palace.
where queens with
frozen glances
hand over
my twenty-five cents
in change.

harsh-flourescent-cold
to
warm-water-air.
the heat has never
felt so
luxurious.
opulent.
lazy.

maybe we should run together. run to places where the summer outlives the earth, where the sea kisses the sky, where i won't ever have to share you again.

the heavens dive
into the distance.
marbled in
midnightblue and sunlessamber

curtains of light & water
light & water
light & water.
beautiful smoggy secrets
that shoot across
the night. & i
thought of you
all over again.

running from
city-lights. trying to
find my way home,
as the skyline
acquaints itself with
trees and a hotel.
((this is an outline of the world at midday))

my feet ache
oh,
how they ache.

my skirt
flutters
around my knees
as
shadows play against
the pavement.

arching over alleyways
is a starless silk.
i might find you
if i look hard enough.

maybe i will fail you,
but at least this
wasn't the first

a lone streetlamp
sprays light
across
gutters and rooftops,
making deadthings
glimmer.

guilt pushed
to the back
of my thoughts
and you will stand there until the end.
you will stand there until the end?

i thought you
were toxic
...
you want too much
from me. i cannot
satisfy your
blind faith.

i forget you everytime
...
i've forgotten you
already.

feeling serene &
alone. trying to
cure the sudden
wanderlust.
wanderlust.
wanderlust.

it's a shame
the only reason i
go walking into
dusk, is when
i have to
get some milk.

nostalgia . uncertainty