8:50 pm . unrequited
tealights on the window sill
and your long, lazy form
dissolving into
the shadows

...

leave behind
a pool of tears.
beside it
my heart in pieces
as it always has been
as it always will be.
((always, since i've known you))

like a moth to a flame
like a moth to a flame

why are cliches so often true?
you told me once
but i can't remember past
your eyes.
your so-very expensive eyes
that mine could never match.

terrified
oh, there's
no other
word for it

i so desperately
wanted you to save me.

why do i need your warmth,
against my cold skin?

i wanted you
to be there for me
and i should have
done the same for you.
i should have
i should have
i should have.

why do i let you take me over?
why can't you return my thoughts?
why do you innundate me?
like a deluge for my essence.

you are intoxicating me

clinging to the fray
because i...
i just don't understand
but then,
you don't seem to either.

nostalgia . uncertainty