9:49 pm . 1938
in prose
in prose
in verselikeprose

a metaphor for
'i hate you'
an allusion to
'i love you'

handprint on
my mirror
a symbol for
just you.

just you.
just you.

a bitter word
that took me
into your thoughts
...
thoughts so shallow
it was impossible to dive
((without dying))

you are vanity under moonlight

but it looks better beneath my eyelids

wrote your address
onto the soles
of my feet
so they could
walk me there.

took a bottle of wine
to you
((in my dreams))
it was vintage
and you smiled
the way
i like you to

played the blues
to you
in the rain,
but you were
in the sunshine.

wrote a story
on my thoughts
and they collapsed
under the weight
((did you make it out alive?))

lit a candle
in the dark
and it made me
think of you.

snuffed a candle
in the dark
and it made me
think of you.

the nighttime
swallowed me whole.
puddles of light
where streetlamps stand.

i like to
watch you
watch me.

i wear bells so
that you can see me
read while i walk
read while i walk
think while i talk
think while i talk

i like to
think of you.

you slay me,
you truly do.

nostalgia . uncertainty